img-1 img-2 img-2

AYURVEDA is a holistic science evolved in ancient India about 5000 years ago. The word Ayurveda is composed of
2 words-AYUSH (means life) Veda (means knowledge). So Ayurveda is a science of life.

Life according to ayurveda means a well balanced combination of Sharira(Body), Indriya (perceptory organ), Satva (Mind), and Atma (soul). Thus Ayurveda deals with every aspect of life, not only with curing the diseases.
  Thus Ayurveda’s aim is to provide everybody Healthy, Peaceful and Happy life.

According to Ayurveda each individual is seen as a combination of five basic elements (Pancha Mahabhutas), namely Akash (Space), Vayu (Air), Teja (Fire), Aap (water), Prithvi (Earth). 

Vayu or Air is responsible for the movement of all types and is vital for the existence of all creatures. Teja or Agni is the element of energy or heat. Jala or Aapa is the element of water essential for sustenance of life. Pruthvi or Earth is responsible for structure and bulk of the material.

Tridodsha Concept:
However, in terms of the functioning of living beings, Ayurveda sees all actions based on three basic functions called doshas - namely Vata, Pitta and Kapha. Vata is responsible for respiration and control of movement. Pitta is responsible for maintenance of body heat and Kapha is responsible for maintenance of body form and structure. These doshas are the manifestations of the Bhootas in the living systems.

The elements combine with Ether and Air in dominance to form what is known in Ayurveda as Vata Dosha. Vata governs the principle of movement and therefore can be seen as the force which directs nerve impulses, circulation, respiration and elimination.

The elements with Fire and Water in dominance combine to form the Pitta Dosha . The Pitta Dosha is responsible for the process of transformation or metabolism. The transformation of foods into nutrients. Pitta is also responsible for metabolism in the organ and tissue systems as wel as cellular metabolism.

Finally, the water and earth elements combine to form the Kapha Dosha. Kapha is responsible for growth, adding structure unit by unit. It also offers protection.

Vata Prakruti individuals are prone to diseases of the neurological system.

Pitta Prakruti individuals are prone to diseases of the digestive and metabolic systems.

Kapha Prakruti individuals are prone to disorders of the respiratory system.

Just as Vata, Pitta, & Kapha are doshas of the body, Satwa (Consciousness or knowledge), Rajas (Motion or Action) and Tamas (Inertia) are Trigunas of mind. These Gunas represents the behavior, temperament and constitution of the individual.

Prakruti concept:
The word Prakruti means "Nature" of the human body. Pra means the "Beginning", and Kruti means "to Perform" or Put together. Thus Prakruti means "Natural form" or "Original form". At any time in life predominance of any particular Dosha decides his Prakruti. Disturbance in the equilibrium of Doshas beyond certain limit causes diseases (Vikruti).

Prakruti can be classified into various psychosomatic types depending upon the dominating Doshas eg. Vata Prakruti, Pitta Prakruti & Kapha Prakruti etc. These types differ in every individual. They also differ in diseases, susceptibility to disease, in the action of drugs, in allergies to various substances, emotions, adjustment to climatic conditions, etc. The physician’s job is to evaluate the Doshic picture of the patient and the disease. In modern medicine, Doctor tries to find out what type of disease the patient is suffering from, but in Ayurveda, it is also more important to find out what type of patient is suffering from what type of disease.

Before a detailed description of each Prakruti type, the qualities of each of the Doshas are given. These qualities are manifested in the individual's personality.

Vata is dry, light, mobile, expansible, quick, cold, rough, clear and astringent in taste. So Vata Prakruti individuals tend to have dry and rough skin, are lightly built, quick in their mental process and initiation of action.

Pitta is hot, penetrating, slightly foul smelling, liquid, sour and pungent in taste. So Pitta Prakruti individuals tend to sweat a lot and tend to have a higher than normal body temperature.

Kapha is unctuous, smooth, soft, sweet in taste, stable, dense, slow, rigid, cold and clear. Kapha Prakruti individuals tend to have soft limbs, slow gait and are slow to understand. The cold quality means that their agni or digestive power is low.

How to diagnose your Prakruti?
The examination of Prakruti is an important subject and is an expert's work. An Ayurvedic expert adopts two broad methods to determine the Prakruti of an individual. They are interrogation and physical examination.

Interrogation involves specific questions put to the individual. The physical examination involves looking for specific physical and behavioral aspects.

The Ayurvedic system of diagnosing Prakruti offers unique insights into understanding and assessing one's health. It is comprehensive in scope, spanning both physical and mental aspects. It is not merely a diagnostic device but also a guide to action for good health. It provides detailed guidelines to adapt one's food and behavior to suit one's Prakruti.

But diagnosing our Prakruti should not become a rationalization for poor health. It should be a guide for intelligent action to tell us in which direction we should move and how we should act to improve our physical and mental well-being.

In actuality, a pure Vata, Pitta or Kapha is rare. Only 1 person out of 1000 have pure Vata, Pitta or kapha. Most people are combinations. To accommodate this variety Ayurveda lists seven constitutional types –Vata, Pitta, Kapha, Vata-Kapha, Vata-Pitta, Kapha-Pitta, Vata-Pitta-Kapha. By understanding constitutional type one can decide the thing to do and avoid. It offers practical way to keep the diet in harmony with body needs. OMKAR has formulated its products on these basic principles which suit the requirements of particular Prakruti.

Determining your constitution:
Here are some common characteristic features of various Prakrutis. For each aspect, circle the quality that best applies to you. Then add up your responses for three Prakrutis. The Doshas with the greatest number of responses is your primary constitution. You may also find that two or even three Doshas are relatively equal.

Note: Do not come to any final conclusion in deciding your own constitution before consulting Ayurvedic Vaidya.

Frame Thin Moderate Large
Weight Under weight Moderate Overweight
Skin Dry, Cool, Rough Oily, Warm, Soft Oily, Thick, Cool
Hair Dry, Rough Oily, Soft,Prematurely gray or early hair loss Thick, Dark, Long,Glossy
Teeth Crooked, Dull Moderate, Well formed Strong, White
Hand Short Medium Long
Lips Dry, Thin, Blackish Red, Thin, Moist Thick, Glossy
Joints Prominent Flabby Strong, Well formed
Tounge Dark, Spotted Thin Clean, Reddish
Pulse Irregular, Quick Fast Slow
Body Odour None Foul smell Oily Smell
Eyes Small, Active Sharp, Penetrating Big, Attractive, Thick eye lashes
Appetite Variable Strong, Excessive Slow but steady
Thirst Variable Excessive Slight
Elimination Hard, Dry, Constipated Soft, Oily, Loose Thick, Oily, Heavy, Slow
Activity Restless, Active, Curious  Aggressive, Intelligent Calm, Slow, Receptive
Faith Wavering, Changeable Determined Steady, Loyal
Memory Recent-good, Past-poor Sharp Slow but excellent
Dreams Flying, Jumping, Running, Fearful Fiery, Angry, Passionate, Colourful Watery, Ocean, Swimming, Romantic
Sleep Scanty,Interrupted Little but sound Heavy Prolonged excessive